Munich, 5 | 27–31 | 2019

Europe’s exclusive development lab for Spatial and Sensorial Narratives for Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and 360° Film!

Immersive technologies are still evolving and changing in a breath-taking tempo, but the real challenge for creators is to understand the new grammar of spatial and sensorial narratives.

Still at the stadium of research and discovery international artists are already providing exciting and sparkling experiences, VR installations, VR and AR artwork, enchanting cinematicVR films and are pushing the boundaries of interactive and non-linear storytelling.

After the great successes in 2017 and 2018, we are now opening the application for the third edition: the European Creators’ Lab.

The European Creators' Lab is tailored for writers, directors, VR/AR developers, game designers, programmers, 360° filmmakers, techies, creative producers, journalists, media enthusiasts, artists and everyone with a solid professional background and a large portion of curiosity and open-mindedness.


What do we do?

The lab hosted 50 participants, partners and mentors from 23 nations each year and quickly evolved into a vibrant networking space. Here, creatives exchange their knowledge and develop ideas up to the first prototype together in teams, mentored by international experts. We focus on storytelling, content development and the creative challenges of immersive worlds.

The 5-day training is packed with intensive expert sessions, keynotes and hands-on workshops. It is a safe space to learn, explore, experiment and collaborate – in a totally competitive-free, multidisciplinary, creative, bubbling environment.

We are proud to welcome some of the best creators and experts as mentors: Lena Fischer, Hsin-Chien Huang, Tupac Martir, Elisabeth Mayer, Fabrizio Palmas, Michel Reilhac, Sara Lisa Vogl, Benjamin de Wit, Liz Rosenthal. More to come.

Head of the European Creators’ Lab is Astrid Kahmke, Bavarian Film Center.

Here are more impressions about participants and mentors from the previous years: xR Creators LAB 2018 and VR Creators LAB 2017


For whom

The European Creators' Lab is aimed at authors, directors, VR/AR developers, game designers, programmers, 360° filmmakers, technicians, creative producers, journalists, media enthusiasts, artists and everyone with a solid professional background and a large portion of curiosity and openness.


Dates

Applications closed: March 17th, 2019
Jury decision: April 5th, 2019
Lab: May 27th–31st, 2019


Place of event

Bavarian Film Center 
Bavariafilmplatz 7
82031 Gruenwald


Scholarships

We offer a small number of scholarships – following the rules of Creative Europe Media – for citizens with the nationality of: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Georgia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Tunisia, Ukraine.

Participation in scholarships is exempt from cost sharing, but participants must cover their travel expenses. The scholarships will be selected by the jury. There is no legal claim for a scholarship.


Application

Contribution Fee 1.785 € (incl. VAT)
includes participation in the lab and six nights in a hotel in Munich

Application Form
Terms of condition
Contact by e-mail

Experts

Hsin-Chien Huang

New Media creator Hsin-Chien Huang has a background in art, design, engineering and digital entertainment. His projects often involve large-scale interaction, performing, mechanical apparatus, algorithmic computations and video installations. For ”Chalkroom", which he realized together with Laurie Anderson, he has been awarded the Grand Prize Best VR Experience at the 74th Venice Film Festival in 2017 and received numerous other international prizes for his work.

Tupac Martir

Tupac Martir, founder and creative director of Satore Studio and Satore Tech, a globally recognized multidisciplinary art and creative studio. He leads a team of tech, development design, art and sensory talent that creates compelling and immersive experiences from concept to delivery. Tupac obtained his BFA from Creighton University and during his career he has evolved as multimedia artist providing production design, visuals and lighting direction in performance, fashion, music and art.

Lena Fischer

Lena Fischer is a media scientist and has discovered her passion for games and computer science at the University of Bayreuth. She studied games at the Technical University of Munich, where she successfully initiated the popular Game Jam for students and completed her Master's degree in Philosophy of Science and Technology. At FFF Bayern, she works as a funding officer for digital games. Before that, she worked at Ravensburger Digital and as a VR developer at Bayerischer Rundfunk. She teaches gaming, and her research focus is narration with interactive systems.

Michel Reilhac

Michel is a pioneer in Virtual Reality filming. His first VR film «Viens!» premiered at Sundance 2016. He is a thought-leader for hybrid forms of storytelling, and immersive, participatory, and interactive experiences.  He is also Head of Studies for the Venice Biennale College, and was Head of the Cross Media College at Scuola Holden, Torino, Italy between 2013 and 2016. Michel’s past includes his work as a contemporary dancer and producer of international tours for major dance companies.

Benjamin de Wit

Benjamin is Founder and Festival Director of VR Days Europe (2015), Europe’s most dynamic Virtual and Augmented Reality event. De Wit started his career in 2001 as an actor with Ivo van Hove’s Toneelgroep Amsterdam. After he has developed several businesses, Spot On Agency, agency for actors and Studio Stomp a digital agency. Everything changed after he had his first VR experience in 2013. De Wit was infected by the VR virus and has been an active apostle ever since. He developed the VR production Ashes to Ashes and the yearly returning VR Days Europe festival in Amsterdam.

Liz Rosenthal

Liz is the Founder & CEO of “Power to the Pixel” and Programmer for Venice International Film Festival's Venice VR, the official competition section and Venice Production Bridge Finance Market. Liz is a board director of The Space (BBC and Arts Council England commissioning fund for digital arts projects), an advisory board member of Immerse UK whose content subgroup she runs and Mediamorfosis. She is a member of BAFTA, the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences and a fellow of the RSA.


The European Creators’ Lab is organized by the Bavarian Film Center Munich, with the support of Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and The Bavarian State Ministry of Digital.

European Creators’ Lab Partners

Creative Europe
lrz

München, 27–31 | 5 | 2019

Europas exklusives Development Lab für räumliche und sensorische Narrative für Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und 360° Film!

Immersive Technologien entwickeln sich noch immer weiter und verändern sich in einem atemberaubenden Tempo, aber die eigentliche Herausforderung für Kreative besteht darin, die neue Grammatik der räumlichen und sensorischen Narrative zu verstehen.

Noch immer im Stadium der Erforschung und Entdeckung sorgen internationale Künstler für spannende und faszinierende experiences, VR-Installationen, VR- und AR-Kunstwerke, magische Cinematic VR-Filme und verschieben so die Grenzen des interaktiven und non-linearen Storytelling.

Nach den großen Erfolgen 2017 und 2018 öffnen wir nun die Ausschreibung für die dritte Edition: das European Creators’ Lab.


Worum es geht

Das Lab beherbergte jedes Jahr 50 Teilnehmer, Partner und Mentoren aus 23 Nationen und entwickelte sich schnell zu einem lebendigen Networking Space. Hier tauschen Kreative ihr Wissen aus und entwickeln gemeinsam in Teams, begleitet von internationalen Experten, Ideen bis hin zum ersten Prototypen. Wir konzentrieren uns auf das Storytelling, auf die Entwicklung von Inhalten und die kreativen Herausforderungen immersiver Welten.

Das 5-tägige Training ist vollgepackt mit intensiven expert sessions, keynotes und hands-on workshops. Es ist ein geschützter Raum, um zu lernen, zu erforschen, zu experimentieren und zusammenzuarbeiten – in einer völlig wettbewerbsfreien, multidisziplinären, kreativen, sprudelnden Umgebung.

Wir sind stolz darauf, einige der besten Künstler und Experten als Mentoren willkommen zu heißen: Lena Fischer, Hsin-Chien Huang, Tupac Martir, Elisabeth Mayer, Fabrizio Palmas, Michel Reilhac, Sara Lisa Vogl, Benjamin de Wit, Liz Rosenthal. Weitere folgen.

Das European Creators’ Lab wird von Astrid Kahmke, Bayerisches Filmzentrum, geleitet.

Hier sind weitere Eindrücke von Teilnehmern und Mentoren aus den Vorjahren: xR Creators LAB 2018 und VR Creators LAB 2017


Für wen

Das European Creators’ Lab richtet sich an Autoren, Regisseure, VR/AR-Entwickler, Gamedesigner, Programmierer, 360°-Filmemacher, Techniker, Kreativproduzenten, Journalisten, Medienbegeisterte, Künstler und alle mit einem soliden beruflichen Hintergrund und einer großen Portion Neugierde und Offenheit.


Termine

Bewerbung bis 17. März 2019
Jury-Entscheidung am 5. April 2019
Lab: 27.–31. Mai 2019


Veranstaltungsort

Bayerisches Filmzentrum
Bavariafilmplatz 7
82031 Grünwald


Stipendien

Wir bieten eine kleine Zahl von Stipendien – den Regularien von Creative Europe Media folgend – für Bürger und Bürgerinnen folgender Nationalitäten: Albanien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Kroatien, Zypern, Tschechische Republik, Estland, Griechenland, Georgien, Ungarn, Island, Lettland, Litauen, Luxemburg, Ehemalige Jugoslawische Republik Mazedonien, Malta, Moldau, Montenegro, Norwegen, Portugal, Rumänien, Slowakei, Slowenien, Serbien, Tunesien, Ukraine.

Die Teilnahme an Stipendien ist von der Kostenbeteiligung befreit, die Teilnehmer müssen jedoch ihre Reisekosten selbst tragen. Die Auswahl der Stipendien erfolgt durch die Entscheidung der Jury. Ein Rechtsanspruch auf ein Stipendium besteht nicht.


Bewerbung

Teilnahmegebühr 1.785 € (incl. MwSt.)
beinhaltet die Teilnahme am Lab und sechs Übernachtungen in einem Hotel in München.

Bewerbungsformular
Teilnahmebedingungen
Kontakt per E-Mail

Experten

Hsin-Chien Huang

New Media creator Hsin-Chien Huang hat einen Hintergrund in Kunst, Design, Technik und digital entertainment. Seine Projekte umfassen oft groß angelegte Interaktionen, Performances, mechanische Apparate, algorithmische Berechnungen und Videoinstallationen. Für „Chalkroom“, das er gemeinsam mit Laurie Anderson realisierte, wurde er 2017 mit dem Grand Prize Best VR Experience der 74. Venedig Filmfestspiele ausgezeichnet und erhielt zahlreiche weitere internationale Preise für seine Arbeiten.

 

Tupac Martir

Tupac Martir, Gründer und Kreativdirektor von Satore Studio und Satore Tech, einem weltweit anerkannten multidisziplinären Kunst- und Kreativstudio. Er leitet ein Team von Tech-, Entwicklungsdesign-, Kunst- und Sensorik-Talenten, das überzeugende und immersive Erfahrungen vom Konzept bis zur Umsetzung schafft. Tupac erwarb seinen BFA an der Creighton University und hat sich während seiner Karriere zu einem Multimedia-Künstler entwickelt, der Produktionsdesign, Grafik und Lichtregie für Performance, Mode, Musik und Kunst anbietet.

Lena Fischer

Lena Fischer ist Medienwissenschaftlerin und hat ihre Leidenschaft für Games und Informatik an der Universität Bayreuth entdeckt. An der TU München studierte sie Games, initiierte dort erfolgreich die beliebten Game Jam für Studierende und schloss ihren Master in Wissenschafts- und Technikphilosophie ab. Beim FFF Bayern arbeitet sie als Förderreferentin für digitale Spiele. Davor war sie bei Ravensburger Digital und als VR-Entwicklerin beim Bayerischen Rundfunk tätig. Sie lehrt und slamt zum Thema Games, ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt ist das Erzählen mit interaktiven Systemen.

Michel Reilhac

Michel ist Virtual Reality-Filme. Sein erster VR-Film "Viens!" Premiere bei Sundance 2016. Er ist ein Vordenker für hybride Formen des Geschichtenerzählens und immersive, partizipative und interaktive Erfahrungen. Er ist außerdem Studienleiter der Biennale Venedig und war von 2013 bis 2016 Leiter des Cross Media College an der Scuola Holden, Turin, Italien. Seine Vergangenheit umfasst seine Arbeit als zeitgenössischer Tänzer und Produzent von internationalen Tourneen für große Tanzkompanien.

Benjamin de Wit

Benjamin de Wit ist Gründer und Festivaldirektor der VR Days Europe (2015), Europas dynamischstem Mixed Reality Event. Er begann seine Karriere 2001 als Bühnenschauspieler bei Ivo van Hove's Toneelgroep Amsterdam. Nachdem er bis 2013 mehrere Unternehmen, Spot On Agency, Agentur für Schauspieler und Studio Stomp eine digitale Agentur aufgebaut hat, machte er eine ersten VR-Erfahrungen. Infiziert mit dem VR-Virus ist De Wit seitdem leidenschaftlicher VR Enthusiast. Er entwickelte die VR-Produktion „Ashes to Ashes“ und das jährliche „VR Days Europe“ Festival.

Liz Rosenthal

Liz ist Gründerin und CEO von „Power to the Pixel“ und Kuratorin von VeniceVR der offiziellen Wettbewerbssektion der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Venedig, und den Venice Production Bridge Finance Market. Sie ist im Vorstand von „The Space“ (BBC and Arts Council England Commissioning Fund for Digital Arts Projects), Beirätin von Immerse UK, dessen Content-Subgruppe sie leitet, und Mediamorfosis. Sie ist Mitglied der BAFTA, der International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences und Fellow der RSA.


Das European Creators’ Lab wird konzipiert und durchgeführt vom Bayerischen Filmzentrum mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe – MEDIA Programms der Europäischen Union, dem Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Digitales und der Bavaria Film Studios.

European Creators’ Lab Partners

Creative Europe
lrz