Munich, 7 | 23–27 | 2018

xR Creators’ Lab: Europe’s exclusive training- and development lab for Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and 360° Film! 

Immersive technologies are developing and improving at a breath-taking tempo, but at the same time there is a challenge to create quality content for the new medium. We learned a bit over the last few years, but we are still in a state of exploration and discovery when it comes to sensorial and spatial narratives or CinematicVR. Not to mention Augmented Reality that just has been landed a few months ago with the release of new devices.

In 2017 we organized the first European VR Creators’ Lab and hosted 50 participants, partners and mentors from 22 nations. The creative sandbox turned into vibrant networking space, where like-minded creatives exchanged knowledge, teamed up for rapid prototyping sessions and became family and – coworkers and coproducers.

In 2018 we opened up the lab not only for Virtual Reality and 360° Film, but also for Augmented Reality and all technologies in between. We focused on narratives and storytelling, on content creation and the creative challenges of immersive worlds.

The xR Creators’ Lab was addressed to all writers, VR/AR developers, game designers, programmers, 360° filmmakers, techies, creative producers, media enthusiasts, artists and all with a solid professional background and a huge amount of curiosity and open-mindedness.


What did we do?

The 5-day training was filled with intense expert sessions, mentored pressure cooking development, guided rapid prototyping and hands-on inspirational workshops. It was a safe haven to learn, explore, experiment and work together – in a completely non-competitive, multidisciplinary, creative, sparkling and enjoyable environment. What happens in the lab – stays in the lab!

Creativity, inspiration and expertise came together in one of the most iconic historical venues in Bavaria: the Munich Residenz thanks to our hosts, the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts.

We are proud to have worked with some of the best creators and artists as mentors: Kevin Tsukii, Emblematic Group, Isi Azu, Magic Leap, Mads Damsbo, Makropol, Sönke Kirchhof, INVR. Space, Fabrizio Palmas, Straightlabs, Paul Raphaël, Felix & Paul Studios, Michel Reilhac, Biennale Venice VR, Tamiko Thiel, Media Artist, Sara Lisa Vogl, xR Base, Benjamin de Wit, xR Days Europe, Jonathan Yomayuza, Emblematic Group.

The xR Creators’ Lab was helmed by Astrid Kahmke, Bavarian Film Center.


Place of event

Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts
Munich Residenz
Max-Joseph-Place 3
80539 Munich

Experts

Christoph Anthes

Professor for Augmented and Virtual Reality at the University for Applied Sciences Upper Austria

Christoph teaches Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and Mixed Reality in Medicine, in which he also works as a researcher. He has been fascinated with the area of Virtual Reality for more than 20 years now and has been working as a scientist in the field of Mixed Reality for over 15 years. Christoph has published more than 40 articles on this topic in various journals and conference proceedings .

Isi Azu

Magic Leap / USA

Isi is a classically trained sculptor, painter and jewelry designer, a self taught animator and creative coder, as well as a 3D enthusiast acting at the crossroads of simplicity and function to craft experiences that go beyond design and interaction. Since 2015 she works as interaction designer for Magic Leap, where she conceptualizes and executes innovative UI and UX concepts in a fast-paced environment while always keeping user needs at the forefront.

Philipp Heiler

brainboost / Germany

Philipp is a medical doctor and founder of brainboost. The interdisciplinary team of doctors, psychologists, health- and sport-scientists as well as game designers is completely specialized in EEG analysis and neurofeedback. Brainboost offers neurotechnology for many target groups, including medical patients, coporate health programs, artists and athletes. Currently, neuro-responsive VR environments are created and tested, to make neurofeedback more efficient.

Dr. Rolf Illenberger

Viond / Germany

Rolf is driven by the vision of empowering any creative person to create and publish their own VR/360° stories. Following several years of development, he launched Viond in early 2018 as an innovative platform to live up to his vision. Prior to launching Viond, Rolf was a managing director at Germanys largest broadcaster ProSiebenSat.1 and help companies with the digital transformation as a management consultant.

Sönke Kirchhof

INVR.Space / Germany

Sönke is CEO and executive producer of award-winning VR Full Service Studio INVR.SPACE GmbH and in charge of all business-related operations as well as deciding on creative and technologic approaches. He works in the fields of VR, stereoscopic filmmaking, VFX and CGI Postproduction as well as Research and Development in arts and technology since more than 15 years. He is also founder of reallifefilm international GmbH, working as Producer and Stereographer in all kind of projects.

Martin Rieger

VRTonung / Germany

Martin is specialized in sound of vision for cinematic virtual reality productions. He worked as an audio producer and composer for a variety of documentaries, commercials and feature films, while he was actually doing his master’s degree in media technology and production. This provided the optimal basis to jump entirely into virtual reality audio. For projects he is responsible for 360° sound recordings and the immersive 3D audio post-production. He also wants to make the subject more present and accessible by giving talks and Workshops.

Kevin Tsukii

Emblematic Group / USA

Kevin Tsukii is the Lead on Immersive Video Technologies at Emblematic Group, where he has helped launch multiple award-winning VR experiences for FRONTLINE PBS, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Oculus and Mozilla. He has worked as a motion graphic designer at Al Jazeera America and shortly after at the Los Angeles Times Visuals Desk producing VR projects. His work has been recognized by the Society of Professional Journalists and the Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA).

Sara Lisa Vogl

xR Base / Germany

Sara Lisa Vogl has a background in Communication Arts and Interactive Media. She develops and directs immersive virtual and augmented reality experiences, and curates and guides through long-term VR trips as the worlds’ first VR Shaman. She cofounded one of the first blogs VR Nerds and spent the early days of VR with the Hamburg based team. Since she moved to Berlin in 2016, Sara is collaborating with Daan Kip to unite and unlock the potential of the European XR scene with their content creation network XRBASE.

Fabrizio Palmas

straightlabs / Germany

With a background in business administration, Fabrizio Palmas is a creative and technical director at straightlabs. He leads a team of software developers, art and game designers. Together with his team he develops innovative trainings for enterprises based on virtual, augmented, and mixed reality. Moreover, the Unity Certified Developer and Professional Scrum Master teaches at the University of Applied Management and at the Technical University Munich, where he´s also a PhD Candidate.

More about Fabrizio Palmas

Jonathan Yomayuza

Emblematic Group / USA

Jonathan is a VR Technical Director, who has helped deliver multiple VR projects for the Vive, three of which have been screened at Sundance and another that was presented to the United States Congress. With ten years of experience in the video game industry, he has mastered programs like Maya, Unity, Unreal, Z-brush which have allowed him to continually push the boundaries of VR within Emblematic Group. Jonathan is also an expert and pioneer in photogrammetry and lead designer of this department at Emblematic.

Mads Damsbo

Makropol / Denmark

Mads Damsbo, schooled a film producer, and an avid techno-optimist, founded Makropol straight out of filmschool, to explore how audiovisual storytelling could help immerse audiences in unprecedented ways.

6 years later - MAKROPOL, based in Copenhagen, Denmark, is an award-winning independent studio working in the intersection of cinema, technology, live performance and installation with their works exhibited, screened, and featured in venues, galleries, and festivals all over the world.

Paul Raphaël

Felix&Paul Studios / Canada

Paul is a two time Emmy Award-winner, filmmaker and visual artist based in Montreal. With a combined passion in cinematic storytelling, visual effects and technology, he and Félix Lajeunesse developed award-winning stereoscopic 3D films and large-scale multimedia installations that have been viewed around the world. Paul has directed original VR experiences and series in a multitude of genres – including collaborations with former presidents Barack Obama and Bill Clinton and most recently on Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs, as well as NASA and Space X. Paul has also been featured in Daring 25 List curated by Vanity Fair and “30 Execs to Watch” as well as in “AdAge’s Creativity 50” list.

Astrid Kahmke

Bavarian Film Centre / Germany

With a background as creative film producer of international feature films, Astrid works for the Bavarian Film Center since 2012. She has developed innovative training formats such as the "Immersive Storytelling Hackathon", "story:first - digital storytelling lab" or the „Writers’ Room:Lab“. Since 2016 she curates the international “i4c events" in Munich and is head of the first European training for artistic developers, the "xR Creators' Lab”.

Tamiko Thiel

Visiting Professor, University for Art and Design Linz

Tamiko Thiel is an internationally acknowledged pioneer creating poetic spaces of memory for exploring social and cultural issues in virtual reality (VR, since 1994) and augmented reality (AR, since 2010). Founding member of artist group Manifest.AR, participating in their path-breaking AR invention at MoMA NY in 2010, and main curator and organizer of their invention into the 2011 Venice Biennial. In 2017 she was GoogleVR Tilt Brush Artist in Residence, and in 2018 Visiting Professor for AR at the University for Art and Design Linz.

More about Tamiko Thiel

Michel Reilhac

Head of Submarine Channel, co-programmer of Venice VR at the Venice Biennale Int. Film Festival)

Michel is a pioneer in Virtual Reality filming. His first VR film «Viens!» premiered at Sundance 2016. He is a thought-leader for hybrid forms of storytelling, and immersive, participatory, and interactive experiences. He is also Head of Studies for the Venice Biennale College, and was Head of the Cross Media College at Scuola Holden , Torino , Italy between 2013 and 2016. Michel’s past includes his work as a contemporary dancer and producer of international tours for major dance companies.

Benjamin de Wit

VR Days Europe / Netherlands

Benjamin de Wit is Founder and Festival Director of VR Days Europe (2015), Europe’s most dynamic Mixed Reality event. He started his career in 2001 as a stage actor with Ivo van Hove’s Toneelgroep Amsterdam. After he has developed several businesses, Spot On Agency, agency for actors and Studio Stomp a digital agency until in 2013 he had his first VR experience. After this experience De Wit was infected by the VR virus and has been an active apostle ever since. He started developed the VR production “Ashes to Ashes” and the yearly returning „VR Days Europe“ festival.

Andreas Oestreich

Arri Media / Germany

Andreas Oestreich studied interactive media at the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences and joined Arri Media in 2011 as a CG artist. His main focus was on media installations at trade fairs and other major events around the world. Most recently he was Technical Director responsible for 3D simulation, compositing and post production workflow. In 2016, he joined Arri’s Future Trends and Technology working group for camera development, where he is responsible for configuration and workflows of 360° and VR camera systems.

Johannes Steurer

ARRI / Germany

Johannes Steurer is head of the Future Trends & Technology research and development at ARRI, where he is responsible for research cooperations and innovations in the field of future recording techniques (3D recording, depth maps, light field, 360° and volumetric recording). He has held various positions at ARRI since 1994. Former activities at IRT and Signum Computer, Munich. Studies of electrical engineering and information technology, doctorate at the Technical University of Munich. Ongoing teaching and reviewing activities. FKTG and SMPTE member. Awards from the Advanced Imaging Society, AMPAS, Cinec, FKTG and SMPTE.

Traugott Emrich

AeroFotografie / Deutschland

Traugott Emrich hat über 10 Jahre Erfahrung in der Luftbild-, Luftpanoramafotografie und Luftvideos. Er hat motorisierte Kameraköpfe (Gigapanbot), 360° Videodrohnen, 360° Kamerariggs und Kardanringe für verschiedene kundenspezifische Anwendungen entwickelt und verfügt über einen starken technischen Hintergrund in „remotely piloted aircraft systems“ (RPAS) mit verschiedenen Flugsteuerungssystemen.

Er ist seit 2008 auf hochwertige 360°-Panoramabilder sowie hochauflösende Panoramafotografie spezialisiert und bietet spezialisierte 360° Video- und 360° 3D-Produktionen unter Verwendung modernster Technologien wie 360° Stealth Drones, Remote RC Dollies, Kabel-Cams und Kamerarigging. Traugott hat auch Erfahrung in konventioneller und Luft-Photogrammetrie und 3D-Laserscanning, end-to-end Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung, um die bestmögliche 3D-Rekonstruktion für Kulturerbe, Architektur, Virtuelle und Augmented Reality experiences und Spiele zu liefern.


The xR Creators’ Lab is part of the Creative Europe Media training initiative »VR Accelerator Europe«, organized by the Bavarian Film Center Munich, with the support of Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and The Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts.

xR Creators’ Lab Partners

Creative Europe
Bayerische Staatskanzlei
VGF
VGF
Verwertungsgesellschaft
Film
VR Base
Base
VR and AR
incubator place
Straightlabs
Straightlabs
Virtual training lab
lrz
VR Days Europe
VR Days Europe
Konferenz
und Expertentreff
Hofbräu München
Hofbräu München
Staatliche Brauerei
Design 4 real

München, 23–27 | 7 | 2018

xR Creaotrs’ Lab – Europas exklusives Trainings- und Developmentlab für Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und 360°-Film!

Immersive Technologien entwickeln sich in atemberaubendem Tempo. Gleichzeitig besteht die Herausforderung darin, qualitativ hochwertige Inhalte für das neue Medium zu erstellen. Wir sind immer noch auf dem Stand der Erforschung und Entdeckung, wenn es um sensorische und räumliche Narrative oder Cinematic VR geht. Ganz zu schweigen von Augmented Reality, das erst vor wenigen Monaten bei uns angekommen ist.

2017 haben wir das erste europäische VR Creators' Lab organisiert und 50 Teilnehmer, Partner und Mentoren aus 22 Nationen in München begrüßt. Die kreative Sandbox verwandelte sich in einen lebendigen Raum zum Netzwerken, in dem gleichgesinnte Kreative ihr Wissen austauschten, sich zu Rapid-Prototyping-Sessions zusammenschlossen und zu einer europäischen Familie wuchsen, zu Koproduzenten wurden.

2018 werden wir das Lab nicht nur für Virtual Reality und 360° Film anbieten, sondern um Augmented Reality und alle Technologien dazwischen erweitern. Wir konzentrieren uns auf Narrative und Storytelling, auf die Entwicklung von Inhalten und die kreativen Herausforderungen von immersiven Welten.

Das xR Creators' Lab richtet sich an alle Autoren, VR/AR-Entwickler, Game Designer, Programmierer, 360°-Filmemacher, Techies, Kreativproduzenten, Medienbegeisterte, Künstler und alle mit einem soliden beruflichen Hintergrund und einer großen Portion Neugier und Aufgeschlossenheit.


Worum geht´s?

Das fünftägige Training mit intensiven Expert Sessions, von Mentoren begleitetes „Pressure Cooking“, geführtem Rapid Prototyping und praxisnahen, inspirierenden Workshops. Es ist ein sicherer Ort um zu lernen, zu erforschen, zu experimentieren und zusammenzuarbeiten - in einem völlig konkurrenzlosen, multidisziplinären, kreativen, sprühenden und angenehmen Umfeld. Was im Lab passiert - bleibt im Lab!

Kreativität, Inspiration und Kompetenz treffen in einem der berühmtesten historischen Gebäude Bayerns zusammen: der Münchner Residenz dank unserer Gastgeber, der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste.

Wir sind stolz darauf, mit einigen der besten Creators und Künstler als Mentoren zusammenzuarbeiten:

  • Kevin Tsukii, Emblematic Group,
  • Isi Azu, Magic Leap,
  • Mads Damsbo, Makropol,
  • Sönke Kirchhof, INVR. Space,
  • Fabrizio Palmas, Straightlabs,
  • Paul Raphaël, Felix & Paul Studios,
  • Michel Reilhac, Biennale Venedig VR,
  • Tamiko Thiel, Medienkünstlerin,
  • Sara Lisa Vogl, xR Base,
  • Benjamin de Wit, xR Days Europe,
  • Jonathan Yomayuza, Emblematic Group.

Das xR Creators‘ Lab wird geleitet von Astrid Kahmke, Bayerisches Filmzentrum.


Termine

Bewerbung bis 6. Mai 2018, 18 Uhr (MEZ)
Jury-Entscheidung am 28. Mai 2018
Lab: 23.–27. Juli 2018


Veranstaltungsort

Bayerische Akademie der Schönen Künste
Residenz München
Max-Joseph-Platz 3
80539 München


Teilnahme

Bewerben können sich alle europäischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger im Sinne der Regularien von Creative Europe Media.

Das Lab wird finanziell teilweise von den Teilnehmern mitgetragen. Der Unkostenbeitrag für das Lab beträgt 1.450 € (inkl. MwSt.) und beinhaltet das fünftägige Lab mit internationalen Experten und spezialisierten Mentoren sowie 6 Übernachtungen im Hotel in München. Kostenfreie Stipendien sind verfügbar.

Die Teilnehmer werden von einer Jury ausgewählt. Kriterien sind unter anderem kreativer background, persönliche Motivation, Erfahrung in VR/AR und/oder 360°.



Experten

Christoph Anthes

Professor für Augmentierte und Virtuelle Realität an der Fachhochschule Oberösterreich

Als Professor für Augmentierte und Virtuelle Realität unterrichtet Christoph Anthes an der Fachhochschule Oberösterreich unter anderem Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und Mixed Reality in der Medizin, in welchen er auch in der Forschung aktiv ist. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren fasziniert ihn der Bereich Virtual Reality. Christoph arbeitet seit über 15 Jahren als Wissenschaftler im Mixed Reality Umfeld und hat in diesem Kontext über 40 Beiträge in Journalen und Konferenzbänden publiziert.

Isi Azu

Magic Leap / USA

Isi ist klassisch ausgebildete Bildhauerin, Malerin und Schmuckdesignerin, autodidaktische Animatorin und kreative Coderin sowie 3D-Enthusiastin, die an der Schnittstelle von Einfachheit und Funktion agiert, um Experiences zu kreieren, die über Design und Interaktion hinausgehen. Seit 2015 arbeitet sie als Interaktionsdesignerin für Magic Leap, wo sie innovative UI- und UX-Konzepte in einer schnelllebigen Umgebung konzipiert und umsetzt und dabei die Bedürfnisse der User stets im Vordergrund stehen.

Philipp Heiler

brainboost / Deutschland

Philipp ist Arzt und Gründer von brainboost. Das interdisziplinäre Team aus Ärzten, Psychologen, Gesundheits- und Sportwissenschaftlern, sowie Game Designers ist komplett auf EEG-Analyse und Neurofeedback spezialisiert. Brainboost bietet Neuro-Technologie für verschiedene Zielgruppen an, darunter medizinische Patienten, Betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement, Künstler und Sportler. Aktuell werden neuro-responsive VR Umgebungen entwickelt und getestet, um Neurofeedback effektiver zu machen.

Dr. Rolf Illenberger

Viond / Deutschland

Dr. Rolf Illenberger ist getrieben von der Vision, allen Kreativen dieser Welt die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre eigenen Geschichten in VR/360° zu entwickeln und zu veröffentlichen. Nach Jahren der Entwicklung hat er im Frühjahr 2018 die Plattform Viond gelauncht, um seine Vision mit Leben zu füllen. Bevor Rolf Viond gegründet hat, war er Geschäftsführer bei ProSiebenSat.1, Deutschlands größtem Fernsehkonzern, und hat als Unternehmensberater viele Unternehmen bei der Digitalen Transformation begleitet.

Sönke Kirchhof

INVR.Space / Deutschland

Sönke ist CEO und Executive Producer des preisgekrönten VR Full Service Studios INVR.SPACE und verantwortlich für alle geschäftsrelevanten Vorgänge sowie für Entscheidungen über kreative und technologische Ansätze. Er arbeitet seit über 15 Jahren in den Bereichen VR, stereoskopische Filmproduktion, VFX und CGI Postproduktion, in Forschung und Entwicklung von Technologien sowie kreativen Umsetzungen neuer Erzählformen. Er ist Gründer der reallifefilm international GmbH und arbeitet hier als Produzent und Stereograph an Projekten aller Art.

Martin Rieger

VRTonung / Deutschland

Martin ist spezialisiert auf die Vertonung von cinematischen Virtual Reality Produktionen. Als Filmtonmeister und -komponist begleitete er eine Vielzahl von Dokumentar-, Werbe- und Spielfilmen, während er gleichzeitig seinen Master in Medientechnik und -produktion machte. Die optimale Grundlage also, sich komplett auf Virtual Reality Audio zu stürzen. Für Projekte übernimmt der die 360° Ton-Aufnahmen sowie die immersive 3D Audio Post-Produktion. Außerdem gibt er Talks und Workshops, um das Thema präsenter und zugänglicher machen.

Kevin Tsukii

Emblematic Group / USA

ist Mixed Reality Filmemacher, Digital Entrepreneur und verfügt über umfassende Kenntnisse der AR- und VR-Branche. Derzeit arbeitet er bei Emblematic Group, einem der Branchenführer im Bereich VR, und hat bei der Produktion und Regie von VR/AR-Experiences mitgewirkt, die auf Festivals wie Sundance, Tribeca, SXSW, Sheffield Docfest, SIFF X, IDFA liefen. Er wurde von Oculus/Facebook als einer von 10 Regisseure für ihr "VR for Good Creator's Program" ausgewählt, sein Film "One Eighty" wurde kürzlich im Virtual Cinema des SXSW Film Festivals uraufgeführt.

Sara Lisa Vogl

xR Base / Deutschland

Sara Lisa Vogl hat einen Hintergrund in Kommunikationsdesign und Interaktive Medien. Sie entwickelt und kreiiert immersive virtuelle und Augmented Reality-Erfahrungen, kuratiert und führt als erste VR-Schamanin weltweit durch langdauernde VR-Reisen. Sie war Mitbegründerin eines der ersten Blogs VR Nerds . Seit ihrem Umzug nach Berlin im Jahr 2016 arbeitet Sara mit Daan Kip zusammen, um das Potenzial der europäischen XR-Szene mit ihrem content creation network XRBASE zu vereinen und zu erschließen.

Fabrizio Palmas

straightlabs / Deutschland

Fabrizio Palmas ist Creative & Technical Director bei der straightlabs. Er koordiniert ein Team aus Softwareentwicklern, Art und Game Designern, um mit Hilfe von Augmented-, Virtual- und Mixed-Reality innovative Trainings für große Unternehmen zu realisieren. Der zertifizierte Unity Developer und Professional Scrum Master ist Dozent an der Hochschule für angewandtes Management und Technische Universität München, wo er auch promoviert.

Mehr über Fabrizio Palmas

Jonathan Yomayuza

Emblematic Group / USA

Jonathan ist Technischer Direktor VR, der geholfen hat, mehrere VR-Projekte für die Vive zu realisieren, von denen drei bei Sundance gezeigt und ein weiteres dem Kongress der Vereinigten Staaten vorgestellt wurde. Nach zehn Jahren Erfahrung in der Videospielindustrie beherrscht er Programme wie Maya, Unity, Unreal, Z-brush, die es ihm ermöglicht haben, die Grenzen von VR innerhalb der Emblematic Group kontinuierlich zu erweitern. Jonathan ist auch Experte und Pionier der Photogrammetrie und Chefdesigner dieser Abteilung bei Emblematic.

Mads Damsbo

Makropol / Dänemark

Mads Damsbo ist ausgebildeter Filmproduzent und begeisterter Techno-Optimist, gründete Makropol direkt aus der Filmschule, um zu erforschen, wie audio-visuelles Geschichtenerzählen das Publikum auf beispiellose Weise eintauchen lassen kann.

Heute, 6 Jahre später, ist MAKROPOL ein preisgekröntes, unabhängiges Studio, das an der Schnittstelle von Kino, Technik, Live-Performance und Installation arbeitet und mit seinen Projekten weltweit in Ausstellungen, Galerien und Festivals vertreten ist.

Paul Raphaël

Felix&Paul Studios / Kanada

Paul ist zweifacher Emmy-Preisträger, Filmemacher und visual artist aus Montreal. Mit seiner Leidenschaft für filmisches Storytelling, visuelle Effekte und Technologie entwickelten er und Félix Lajeunesse preisgekrönte stereoskopische 3D-Filme und große Multimedia-Installationen, die auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt wurden.
Paul hat VR experiences und -Serien in einer Vielzahl von Genres inszeniert - unter anderem in Zusammenarbeit mit den ehemaligen Präsidenten Barack Obama und Bill Clinton und zuletzt zu Wes Anderson's „Isle of Dogs“ sowie der NASA und Space X. Paul wurde auch in der „Daring 25 List“ kuratiert von Vanity Fair und „30 Execs to Watch“ sowie „AdAge's Creativity 50 List“ vorgestellt

Astrid Kahmke

Bayerisches Filmzentrum / Deutschland

Mit einem Hintergrund als Creative Producer internationaler Spielfilme arbeitet Astrid seit 2012 für das Bayerische Filmzentrum. Sie hat innovative Trainingsformate wie den «Immersive Storytelling Hackathon», «story:first - digital storytelling lab» oder das «Writers' Room:Lab» entwickelt. Seit 2016 kuratiert sie die internationalen «i4c Events» in München und leitet das erste europäische Training für künstlerische Entwickler, das «xR Creators' Lab».

Tamiko Thiel

Gastprofessorin, Universität für Kunst und Design Linz

Tamiko Thiel ist eine international anerkannte Pionierin, die poetische Erinnerungsräume für die Erforschung sozialer und kultureller Themen in der virtuellen Realität (VR, seit 1994) und der erweiterten Realität (AR, seit 2010) schafft. Gründungsmitglied der Künstlergruppe Manifest.AR, Teilnahme an ihrer wegweisenden AR-Erfindung im MoMA NY im Jahr 2010 und Hauptkuratorin und Organisatorin ihrer Experience für die Biennale Venedig 2011. Im Jahr 2017 war sie GoogleVR Tilt Brush Artist in Residence und im Jahr 2018 Gastprofessorin für AR an der Universität für Kunst und Design Linz.

Mehr über Tamiko Thiel

Michel Reilhac

Head of Submarine Channel, co-programmer of Venice VR at the Venice Biennale Int. Film Festival)

Michel ist Virtual Reality-Filme. Sein erster VR-Film "Viens!" Premiere bei Sundance 2016. Er ist ein Vordenker für hybride Formen des Geschichtenerzählens und immersive, partizipative und interaktive Erfahrungen. Er ist außerdem Studienleiter der Biennale Venedig und war von 2013 bis 2016 Leiter des Cross Media College an der Scuola Holden, Turin, Italien. Seine Vergangenheit umfasst seine Arbeit als zeitgenössischer Tänzer und Produzent von internationalen Tourneen für große Tanzkompanien.

Benjamin de Wit

VR Days Europe / Niederlande

Benjamin de Wit ist Gründer und Festivaldirektor der VR Days Europe (2015), Europas dynamischstem Mixed Reality Event. Er begann seine Karriere 2001 als Bühnenschauspieler bei Ivo van Hove's Toneelgroep Amsterdam. Nachdem er bis 2013 mehrere Unternehmen, Spot On Agency, Agentur für Schauspieler und Studio Stomp eine digitale Agentur aufgebaut hat, machte er seine ersten VR-Erfahrungen. Infiziert mit dem VR-Virus ist De Wit seitdem leidenschaftlicher VR Enthusiast. Er entwickelte die VR-Produktion „Ashes to Ashes“ und das jährliche „VR Days Europe“ Festival.


Das xR Creators' Lab ist Teil der Creative Europe Media Trainingsinitiative "VR Accelerator Europe", konzipiert und durchgeführt vom Bayerischen Filmzentrum mit Unterstützung des Creative Europe - MEDIA Programms der Europäischen Union und der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste.


xR Creators’ Lab Partners

Bayerische Staatskanzlei
VR Base
Base
VR and AR
incubator place
brainboost Neurofeedback
Straightlabs
Straightlabs
Virtual training lab
VGF
VGF
Verwertungsgesellschaft
Film
Viond GmbH