Virtual Reality will revolutionise filmmaking in the coming years. In 360° worlds, we can experience stories more intensively than ever before. But how does VR work? Which technologies are used, and which teams? And above all, how does the storytelling work?


Agenda

Fifty media professionals from throughout Germany came together to develop projects, network, and learn from each other. The Hackathon started at the same time for all participants: all 360° film production processes could be implemented in interdisciplinary project teams (journalists, designers, software developers, camera operators, sound designers, storytellers, producers, and directors), looking at aspects ranging from material development and 360° filming through to stitching, post-processing, and scoring. Filming took place at the Bavarian Film Centre, in the film and theatre props stores and the Bavarian Film Studios’ outdoor sets.


Highlights

Emmy Award winner Thomas Wallner (DEEP Inc., Polar Sea 360°) opened the half-day conference part of the event, followed by an intensive, three-day workshop with Nicolas Jolliet, one of the most experienced 360° cameramen in the world.

München, 20–21 | 11 | 2015

Virtuelle Realität wird das Filmemachen in den nächsten Jahren revolutionieren. In 360 Grad Welten können wir Geschichten intensiver erleben denn je zuvor. Doch wie macht man VR? Welche Technologien kommen dabei zum Einsatz, welche Teams? Und vor allem, wie funktioniert das Erzählen?


Ablauf

50 Professionals der Medienbranche aus ganz Deutschland fanden sich zusammen, um gemeinsam Projekte zu entwickeln, sich zu vernetzen und voneinander zu lernen. Gleichzeitig startete für alle Teilnehmer der Hackathon, bei dem in interdisziplinären Projektteams (Journalisten, Designer, Software-Entwickler, Kameraleute, Sounddesigner, Storyteller, Produzenten, Regisseure) von der Stoffentwicklung über den 360° Dreh bis hin zum Stitchen, der Nachbearbeitung und Vertonung alle Prozesse der 360° Videofilmherstellung realisiert werden konnten. Gedreht wurde im Bayerischen Filmzentrum, im Fundus der Film- und Theaterausstattung und in den Außenkulissen der Bavaria Film Studios.


Highlights

Emmy-Preisträger Thomas Wallner (DEEP Inc, Polar Sea 360°) eröffnete den halbtägigen Conference-Teil des Events, dem ein intensiver, dreitägiger Workshop mit Nicolas Jolliet folgte, einem der wohl erfahrensten 360° Kameramänner der Welt.


Partner 360° VR Hackathon

First Movie Program
First Movie Program
Förderprogramm
des Filmzentrums
Transmedia Bayern
Transmedia Bayern
Fachverband
der Medienbrache
Film Fernseh Fonds Bayern
Film Fernseh Fonds
Bayern

Medienförderung
Bayerischer Rundfunk
Bayerischer Rundfunk
Landesrundfunk
des Freistaates Bayern
Arri Media
Arri Media
Filmproduktion
Bavaria Film
Bavaria Film
Filmproduktion
IRT
IRT
Institut
für Rundfunktechnik
lrz