Telling stories using a range of platforms is becoming a huge experiment. The world of filmmakers and storytellers has shifted since the Internet, smartphones, smart TV, tablets, and game consoles have changed our use of media.


Content

Communication = interaction. What we know as mutual understanding between humans has now become a fixed part of digital communications. Users want to be actively involved.

But how do we tell stories digitally: on several platforms, at the same time or with interconnection, for different target groups? How is a Storyworld – the nucleus of transmedia storytelling – built up? How does value creation work, which teams are required, and which workflows need to be considered?

The Transmedia Masterclass put these developments under scrutiny, searching for creative storytelling and interaction ideas.


Agenda

At this five-day Masterclass, we introduced participants to transmedia work with the aid of clearly demonstrated examples. We explained theoretical principles ranging from concept worlds, bibles, and timelines to character arcs and formats, and did practical work in multi-disciplinary groups on creative options and active ideas for new projects. The Masterclass was led by Jörg Ihle and Astrid Kahmke.


Highlight

Our special guest and mentor for the Transmedia Masterclass was Lance Weiler. A writer and filmmaker, Lance is exploring the boundaries of digital media with his ground-breaking projects «Head Trauma», «Collapsus», «Pandemic», and «Bear 71». Businessweek has named him as one of the leading figures who will change Hollywood. Working exclusively with Lance Weiler was the triumphant finale of this experimental week.

München, März 2014

Geschichtenerzählen wird zum großen Experiment. Denn es geht nie mehr nur um eine, sondern um unzählige Geschichten. Die Welt der Filmemacher ist eine andere geworden, seit Internet, Smartphones und Smart TV, Tabloids und Spielekonsolen die Kommunikation beeinflussen. 


Worum es geht

Kommunikation ist Interaktion. Was für die zwischenmenschliche Verständigung gilt, ist inzwischen auch fester Bestandteil der digitalen Kommunikation. Die Nutzer wollen aktiv teilnehmen.

Aber wie erzählt man digital – auf mehreren Plattformen, zeitgleich oder ineinandergreifend, für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen? Wie baut man eine Storyworld, den Nukleus transmedialen Erzählens? Wie funktioniert die Wertschöpfung, welche Teams sind erforderlich und welche workflows müssen beachtet werden?

Die Transmedia Masterclass nahm diese Entwicklungen unter die Lupe und suchte nach schöpferischen Erzähl- und Interaktionsideen.


Ablauf

Fünf Tage lang erhielten die Teilnehmer der Masterclass mittels anschaulicher Beispiele eine Einführung in transmediales Arbeiten: Von Concept Worlds, Bibles, Timelines, Character Arcs bis hin zu Formaten werden theoretische Grundlagen vermittelt und aktiv Ideen für neue Projekte und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten in interdisziplinären Gruppen erarbeitet. Geleitet wurde die Masterclass von Jörg Ihle und Astrid Kahmke.


Highlight

Mentor und Special Guest der Transmedia Masterclass ist Lance Weiler. Der Autor und Filmemacher lotet mit seinen bahnbrechenden Projekten »Head Trauma«, »Collapsus«, »Pandemic«, »Bear 71« die Grenzen digitaler Medien aus. Dafür kürte ihn die Zeitschrift Business Week zu »einem der führenden Köpfe, die Hollywood verändern werden«. Die exklusive Arbeit mit Lance Weiler bildet den krönenden Abschluss der experimentellen Woche.